Hopewell_(Millville,_West_Virginia)

Hopewell (Millville, West Virginia)

Hopewell (Millville, West Virginia)

Historic house in West Virginia, United States


Hopewell, also known as Hopewell Mills and Hopewell Farm, was established around 1765 by William Little, Sr., who built grain and saw mills near the Shenandoah River. In 1827, William Little, Jr. sold the property to James Hite and Jacob Newcomer. Hite named the property "Hopewell", identifying the mill with a place in Leetown also named Hopewell, where there was a Quaker meeting house. Hite's descendant, Thomas Hite Willis, operated and expanded the mill, adding a woolen mill. The woolen mill operated until the 1920s providing uniforms for the Army.

Quick Facts Location, Nearest city ...

The complex includes a log-and-clapboard house, built circa 1765 with twentieth century additions, a tenant house (known as the "Viand Cottage") from the same era and of similar construction, several outbuildings and the ruins of the woolen mill, circa 1850.[2]


References

  1. "National Register Information System". National Register of Historic Places. National Park Service. April 15, 2008.
  2. Jean T. Crolius (November 20, 1993). "National Register of Historic Places Nomination: Hopewell" (PDF). National Park Service. {{cite journal}}: Cite journal requires |journal= (help)



Share this article:

This article uses material from the Wikipedia article Hopewell_(Millville,_West_Virginia), and is written by contributors. Text is available under a CC BY-SA 4.0 International License; additional terms may apply. Images, videos and audio are available under their respective licenses.