Comrie_Glacier

Comrie Glacier

Comrie Glacier

Glacier in Antarctica


Comrie Glacier (65°48′S 64°20′W) is a glacier 13 nautical miles (24 km) long, flowing west to enter the head of Bigo Bay on the west coast of Graham Land. It was first sighted and roughly surveyed by the French Antarctic Expedition in 1909. It was resurveyed in 1935–36 by the British Graham Land Expedition (BGLE), and later named for Leslie J. Comrie, founder and first director of the Scientific Computing Service Ltd, London, who, as superintendent of HM Nautical Almanac Office in 1934, greatly assisted the BGLE, 1934–37, by providing advance copies of The Nautical Almanac up to 1937.[1]


References

  1. "Comrie Glacier". Geographic Names Information System. United States Geological Survey, United States Department of the Interior. Retrieved 2011-11-20.

Public Domain This article incorporates public domain material from "Comrie Glacier". Geographic Names Information System. United States Geological Survey.



Share this article:

This article uses material from the Wikipedia article Comrie_Glacier, and is written by contributors. Text is available under a CC BY-SA 4.0 International License; additional terms may apply. Images, videos and audio are available under their respective licenses.